2014 ASAA Architectural Awards

The 4th round of ASAA Architectural Stone Awards were presented at designEX, Australia’s original and pre-eminent event for architecture and design, held at the Sydney Exhibition Centre, Glebe Island, 28-30 May 2014. The criteria for entry was established by the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) and ASAA. The AIA generously supplied a panel of three judges to select award winners in six categories. A Premier Award winner was selected from the category winners.

Judges for the 2014 Awards:

  • Lindsay Davis of Garner Davis,
  • Alex Njoo, Architect,
  • David Saunders of S2 Design.

The ASAA awards were presented by David West of Materialswise and architect Stephen Varady of Stephen Varady Architecture.

00_JPW_NationalWorkersMemorial_Brett BoardmanPremier Award Winning Project
and Best Civic Project
National Workers Memorial, Canberra
Architecture: Johnson Pilton Walker
Stone: From every state & territory



Commercial Interior

Turner & Associates
Export Project

LAB Architecture
Civic Project

Johnson Pilton Walker
Restoration Project

Heritas Architecture
Residential Project

TT Architecture, Canberra
Sculpture/Public Art

Economic Development Qld
Imported Stone
Best Residential

Ocean+Merchant Antibes
Hugh Turner of
Collins & Turner
Imported Stone
Best Commercial

TTI Stone Onyx
Bates Smart
Joint winner
Sculpture/Public Art
Wurrungwuri stone sculpture
ARUP Sydney

Read more about the selection process in the story as it appeared in Discovering Stone Issue 20.